Source: digitaltrends.com

How to Send Private Emails Using Gmail’s “Confidential Mode”?

Millions of people use Gmail worldwide, and data from July of this year shows that roughly a third of users use it as their primary email provider. The reality that Gmail is incredibly dependable and has excellent interaction with certain other Google services undoubtedly contributes to its widespread use. One of the smaller, occasionally less well-known features that add to Gmail’s benefits is the ability to use “Confidential Mode”.

The aforementioned module is just another Gmail add-on that gives users additional flexibility when sending emails. Another security layer offers stronger protections when delivering sensitive data over email behind this additional degree of management. It is very conceivable that hackers may use your email to access your credit card or bank account data, deplete an account’s funds, or accumulate charges. They might even sign up for websites and services using your email and password, such as web stores or perhaps, gambling sites of the best casinos at TopCasinoExpert.com, charging you a monthly fee as a result.

See more information about the “Confidential Mode” below.

How Does “Confidential Mode” Work?

Source: fiverr.com

The message is delivered via Gmail’s “Confidential Mode” rather than conventional email protocols. Instead, a Google server is used to host the email message. Sensitive information can be safeguarded in this way, and its distribution without the sender’s permission is prevented.

The information regarding email being stored on Google’s server will draw the attention of those users who are really concerned about the security of their data. Since it is unclear how long an email sent in “Confidential Mode” would stay on the server, there is a chance that it will still be present in one of Google’s data centers after its expiration, but this is only speculation.

“Confidential Mode” fundamentally involves regulating the sent email message and reducing the likelihood that its recipient may compromise the content of the message they receive.

There are no choices for downloading, printing, forwarding, or copying the message or any attachments when in “Confidential Mode”.

The message sender may, while in “Confidential Mode”:

  • set the message’s expiration date,
  • opt for revoking access to the message at any moment,
  • request a text verification code in order to access the message.

What Drawbacks Does “Confidential Mode” Have?

Source: emailoverloadsolutions.com

There are significant disadvantages to “Confidential Mode” for sure, which are instantly apparent.

The first point is that email messages sent in this method cannot be sent at predetermined intervals.

Another flaw demonstrates that “Confidential Mode” is also not entirely secure. There are no barriers for all the other users to make screenshots and distribute them, despite the fact that it stops the communication from being forwarded to other people.

The “Confidential Mode” feature in Gmail is undoubtedly a great feature that will improve the safety of sending emails with private data to a higher degree, despite the reality that it does not offer 100% protection.

Using “Confidential Mode” While Sending Emails

Some users might not be familiar with how to use this mode since it is a relatively new functionality within Gmail.

To begin with, a Gmail user account on the windows desktop or the application is required in order to use it (available for both iOS and Android).

Create a new message in Gmail and seek the “Toggle confidential mode” symbol with a clock and a padlock at its windows’ bottom to begin using “Confidential Mode”. When you click it, a new window where you may enter the information for the email message you are delivering will open.

The message expiration date (set expiry) and the manner in which the passcode will be required to open the email must both be specified.

If you choose to make up a code, you have two choices:

  • Without an SMS passcode; the recipient will be emailed a code;
  • An SMS passcode; passcode will be sent to the receiver through SMS.

Click “Save” after you have made your choice. Now type your email as normal below, then press the “Send” button. Gmail will also need your phone number if you previously choose the “SMS passcode” option.

Within Gmail, the sent message will be displayed in the “Sent” folder.

Email Reception in “Confidential Mode”

Source: makeuseof.com

When sending emails in “Confidential Mode”, there are two categories of recipients: Gmail users and people who do not use Gmail.

Such a message is delivered to a Gmail user in a fairly simple manner. The received email contains the following tag, and the forward button is disabled: “Won’t have the option to forward, copy, print or download this e-mail.“

The email you got in “Confidential Mode” looks normal in all other respects. The fact that the received email expires after its validity period is another significant characteristic.

Things are a bit different for people who do not utilize Gmail. A link will appear in the confidential email they receive from a Gmail account, and they must click it. The web browser will then show their email to them.

In conclusion, it is important to reiterate that “Confidential Mode” in Gmail stops receivers from sharing messages but does not stop them from capturing a screenshot or a photo of the message or its attached files. Additionally, recipients have the option of downloading messages/attachments using malicious software or programs.

So, Should You Switch to “Confidential Mode”?

It depends on every user separately. The “Confidential Mode” function serves as an extra email control as opposed to a true privacy and security solution because it does not apply other types of encrypting or higher levels of protection beyond Gmail encryption. Even if it has some drawbacks, sending sensitive e-mails in “Confidential Mode” can help much in establishing a secure setting.

About Nina Smith